International Day of the Girl Child was celebrated in the New Public School


New Public School

NewZNew (Chandigarh) : The International Day of the Girl Child was celebrated in the New Public School, Sector 18-B in the morning Assembly today. A Turban tying competition was organized and Mr. Justice Amit Rawal, Judge, Punjab and Haryana High Court presided over the function. The whole school participated with zeal and students as well as teachers wore pink turban to mark the occasion since Pagri is a symbol of honour, and pink colour represents compassion, nurturing and love.

The school assembly ground was a riot of pink and gave a festive look. After the prayers were sung, the chief guest was extended floral welcome. A brief introduction of the chief guest was followed by a succinct speech on the significance of the day by Shivyoshita Sood, the school prefect.


Next, the prize distribution ceremony was held and Mr. Justice Amit Rawal gave away the prizes to the winners. Yuvsatta and ‘Garden of hope’ foundation were the Co-organizers of the event and mementoes were presented to the Chief Guest and the Principal, R.D. Singh Riar. Mr. Justice Amit Rawal addressed the gathering and informed students what Women Empowerment means. He also informed students about the role of women in India after Independence.

After his address, the Principal R.D. Singh Riar proposed vote of thanks and the grand final was an energetic performance of Bhangra by the School students who had recently emerged winner in an Inter-School Folk Dance Competition. The assembly concluded with the National Anthem.

Also Read :   Kay2 Steel scale ups Punjab Operations

The names of the winners of the turban tying competition are as follows:

Senior School:

Amrit Singh                                                                            Winner

Shivyoshita Sood                                                                    Runner-up

Middle School:

Govind                                                                                    Winner

Amrinder                                                                                 Runner-up


Sukhdeep Kaur                                                                       Winner

Arush                                                                                      Runner-up

Mohit Sandhu of UKG and Aareena Sudhera of Class VII were felicitated under a special category.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here