Women’s IPL teams announced: Trailblazers and Supernovas


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced the squads for the two women’s teams that will face off in a challenge match ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) Qualifier 1 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 22. The two teams, named IPL Supernovas and IPL Trailblazers, will be led by India stars Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana respectively.

The one-of-its-kind match featuring 26 players including 10 international stars from Australia, England and New Zealand, a BCCI release said.

Australia’s captain Meg Lanning has recovered from her injury and will be a part of Harmanpreet Kaur-led IPL Supernovas, it added.

India women’s T20 vice-captain Smriti Mandhana will lead IPL Trailblazers.

The complete squads:

IPL Trailblazers: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana (capt), Suzie Bates, Deepti Sharma, Beth Mooney, Jemimah Rodrigues, Danielle Hazell, Shikha Pandey, Lea Tahuhu, Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha.

IPL Supernovas: Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here