GMCH holds 25th Annual Athletic Meet


The 25th Annual Athletic meet of Government Medical College & Hospital (GMCH) was declared open on Saturday and concluded at the Sports Complex, Sector 46, here today. The chief guest for the valedictory cum prize distribution ceremony was Yashpal Sharma, former Indian cricketer.

The best athlete among boys went to Sahil Bhardwaj of 2015 BSc. Batch while best athlete among girls went to Geetika of 2014 batch. The best athlete among faculty went to community medicine department.

Prof. B.S. Chavan, Director Principal of Government Medical College & Hospital (GMCH), Sector 32, had inaugurated the meet on Saturday. The 2014 batch bagged the best march past trophy. During the two-day event, students, faculty and staff participated in a variety of track and field events. Prizes were also given for various indoor games which were held during the past 2 weeks.

Various athletic events for different age groups both male and female, included, races, discus throw, high jump, long jump, shot put. Javelin throw, tug of war between the students and faculty, besides fun races for families and children.

Among the first prize winners in finals were, Sonu of 2016 batch in 1500 meters race, Varnika of 2016 batch in Shot Put (Girls), Sahil Bhardwaj of 2015 BSc. batch in 200 meters boys race and Discus Throw (Boys), Dency of 2016 BSc. Batch in Discus Throw (Girls), Johra Singh in Shot Put (staff), Pankaj of 2015 B.Sc. batch in Javelin Throw (Boys), while Vipul of 2016 batch managed top position in high jump. Geetika of 2014 batch bagged top positions in 200 meters and 400 meters races, and long jump.

Also Read :   Ram Nath Kovind elected as 14th President of India

Among the faculty finals first prize winners were Dr. Jagjit Singh in Men Discus Throw, Dr. Meenu Kalia in both Women Discus Throw and Shot Put, while Dr. Ravi Rohilla got first prize in Men Shot Put finals. In tug of war between the students and faculty, finals were won by the faculty.

The highlight of the silver jubilee athletic meet was the all the graduate (MBBS, BSc. Nursing and BSc. MLT) and all the post graduate (MD/ MS/ M Phil students) participated together. Earlier there used to be different events for students of each course. Such inclusive participation will narrow the boundary across different stream of students and will help in cohesive health care team for better patient care.

Prof. B.S. Chavan, Director Principal and Prof. S.S. Lehl, Chairman, Sports committee welcomed the chief guest and other invited guests and gave the detail of the events held during the meet. Shri Yashpal Sharma emphasized on the need of good physical fitness among the medicos.

Prof. Rajeev Sharma, Secretary Sports committee thanked the chief guest and the invited guests for gracing the occasion. Cultural program was also organized during the closing ceremony.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here