Fortis Mohali wins 2 awards at 6th MT India Healthcare Awards 2016


NewZNew (S A S Nagar) : Fortis Hospital Mohali won 2 awards at the 6th MT India Healthcare Awards 2016 held in Mumbai on March 11. While Dr Ashit Syngle (Consultant – Rheumatology) was feted with the ‘Best Doctor in Rheumatology’, Mr Vikram Goel (Biomedical Engineer) was honoured with the ‘Best Innovative Medical Product of the Year’ award.


This coveted awards platform evaluates doctors, hospitals and healthcare companies on their outstanding performance in the healthcare and life sciences sector, and also take into account the best practices in a variety of regional and global markets.

Dr Syngle, a post-graduate in Internal Medicine from PGIMER, started the Rheumatology Department at Fortis Hospital Mohali in 2003. He has discovered effective treatments for several difficult-to-treat rheumatic diseases and also discovered two drugs costing a few hundreds per month as a substitute for the exorbitantly expensive biologics costing Rs 70,000 to 1 lakh/month. He has also pioneered a novel method of Stem Cell Therapy for enhanced cardiovascular risk of rheumatic diseases through economical pharmacotherapy, thereby revolutionizing stem cell medicine. Dr Syngle is also the proud Editor of ‘Rheumatology: Principles & Practice’, a multi-author textbook with contributors from Europe, Australia and Asia published in 2010.

Mr Goel, a biomedical engineer at Fortis, was awarded for his invention, ‘Catheter Reprocessing System’. His innovation has earlier been awarded the first prize during ‘Intel Embedded Challenge’ and recognized during the National Conference of Consortium of Accredited Healthcare Organizations.

Also Read :   Volkswagen Celebrates its 10th year of Association with Lally Motors in Punjab

A spokesperson at MT Awards said, “The verdict was based on the profile, assessment of achievements and visions, comprehensive online research, customer reviews and patient satisfaction. The recommendation from the eminent panel of jury was the deciding factor for the winning ticket.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here