Mayo Ajmer wins inaugural Chandigarh Alumni Golf


NewZNew (Chandigarh) : The Mayo Ajmer alumni team of Arjun Anand, GS Bakshi, JS Bakshi and Ashok Punjabi won the inaugural Chandigarh Alumni Invitational Golf tournament, which was contested over 18 holes at the Chandigarh Golf Course today.

The Bakshi brothers teamed up with Anand and Punjabi to accumulate 149 points in the double preiora format and won the event – the motto of which was ‘Together we Play.’


Doon school’s Ravibir Singh, Jayat Nalagarh, Ranjit Singh and Jotinder Cheema finished first runners-up with a total of 144 points.

Meanwhile Capt. RS Thakur, Vivan Gill, Simarinder Singh and IPS Phoolka finished second runners-up with 143 points.

Jayat Nalgarh carded the lowest gross score, a six-over-par, 78 to win the individual prize while Manank Oberoi carded an 82 to finish runner-up.

The best stableford score was carded by Arjun Anand who had 39 points and Gaurav Sirkelk was second with 38 points.

Amongst the other prizes, Swapan Bansal won the nearest to the pin, Jayat Nalagarh the longest drive and Gp Capt Anil Singha the straightest drive.

Old Cottonion professional golfer Sujjan Singh performed the inaugural tee off. Another Old Cottonion Jeev Milkha Singh gave away the prizes later in the evening at the CGA Golf Range.

Also Read :   Creative Zone Academy holds Annual Function

The inaugural Chandigarh Alumni Golf Invitational tournament featured the alumni of leading all boys’ boarding schools of the country – Bishop Cotton School (Shimla), Mayo (Ajmer), The Doon School (Dehradun), The Lawrence School (Sanawar) and Welham Boys School (Dehradun).

The invitational tournament is an attempt to establish a common platform to network, host events and reach out t alumni of participating schools worldwide.

Efforts will also be made to gradually have alumni from other prestigious boarding schools to join in.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here